Tuesday, April 1, 2014

Hawaii Symphony Orchestra features highly-rated violin in Prokofiev and Strauss concert

The Hawaii Symphony Orchestra (HSO) will feature guest violinist Anne Akiko Meyers and acclaimed Japanese conductor Junichi Hirokami this Saturday at 8 p.m. and Sunday at 4 p.m., April 5 and 6, at the Neal Blaisdell Center. This highly anticipated Prokofiev and Strauss concert, the second of the Spring 2014 Halekulani Masterworks Series, has Meyers performing on her priceless 1741 “Vieuxtemps” Guarneri del Gesu.

A California native, Meyers is one of the world’s premier concert violinists. She is widely praised for her elegance and technical mastery of the instrument, showcasing her passion for classical music. Meyers is a top-selling recording artist with close to 30 albums to her credit, including her 2014 No. 1 classical bestseller, “The Four Seasons: The Vivaldi Album.”

In this rare Hawaii appearance, Meyers will perform on the “Vieuxtemps” Guarneri violin, which has been given to her on lifetime loan. Built by Italian violin maker Giuseppi Guarneri in 1741, the instrument acquired its name from a previous owner, 19th-century Belgian composer and violinist Henri Vieutemps. Flawless in sound and light in weight and color, it has also been played by such renowned violinists as Yehudi Menuhin, Itzhak Perlman, Pinchas Zukerman and Joshua Bell.

“Concertgoers are in for a real treat with Anne and Junichi,” said HSO executive director Jonathan Parrish. “We are excited to bring to Hawaii top artists to perform with the Hawaii Symphony Orchestra.”

This weekend’s programs open with the Masquerade Suite by Khachaturian. Then, Meyers joins Hirokami and the HSO in a performance of Prokofiev’s Violin Concerto No. 2. The concerts close with two much-loved works by Richard Strauss, Till Eulenspiegel’s Merry Pranks and the Rosenkavalier Suite.

The remaining concerts in the Spring 2014 Halekulani Masterworks Series:

Saturday, April 26, at 8 p.m. and Sunday, April 27, at 4 p.m.

Gershwin & Beethoven
Maximiano Valdes                 Conductor
Sara Davis Buechner           Piano

- Ravel                                 Alborada del Gracioso
- Gershwin                               Piano Concerto in F
- Beethoven                             Symphony No. 3, “Eroica”

Sunday, May 11, at 4 p.m.

Iggy Plays Paganini
Gerard Schwarz                    Conductor
Ignace “Iggy” Jang               Violin

- Mozart                                  Symphony No. 39
- Mozart                                   Adagio for Violin and Orchestra
- Paganini                               “La Campanella”
- Elgar                                     Enigma Variations

Saturday, May 17, at 8 p.m. and Sunday, May 18, at 4 p.m.

Concerto for Koto
Naoto Otomo                         Conductor
Yumi Kurosawa                     Koto

- Akutagawa                            Musica per Orchestra Sinfonica
- Daren Hagan                        Genji, Concerto for Koto and Orchestra (World Premiere)
- Tchaikovsky                          Symphony No. 4

Sunday, June 1, at 4 p.m.

Grieg & Berlioz
Naoto Otomo                         Conductor
Conrad Tao                            Piano

- Sibelius                                Finlandia
- Grieg                                     Piano Concerto
- Berlioz                                  Symphonie Fantastique

About the Hawaii Symphony Orchestra
The Hawaii Symphony Orchestra, one of the oldest orchestras west of the Rocky Mountains, has won the enthusiastic praise of the nationally and internationally renowned soloists and guest conductors who have performed with it.

For more information or to make a donation, please visit www.HawaiiSymphonyOrchestra.org.

Facebook: www.facebook.com/HawaiiSymphony

No comments:

Post a Comment